Can A Goalkeeper Score A Goal

Can A Goalkeeper Score A Goal?

Last updated on October 6th, 2021

The goalkeeper has one of the most unique roles in football. They are able use their hands if they are within their penalty area.

Since they are so different from other players on the pitch, can they actually score a goal?

Here’s what you need to know:

Can a goalkeeper score a goal?

A goalkeeper is just like any other outfield player. As such, he is able to score a goal using his legs or head. However, he is unable to score a goal if the ball last touched his hand or arm before it went into the net.

A goalkeeper will usually come out for a corner kick during the last moments of the game. This most likely happens when his team is losing by one goal, and there is no time left.

With this added man advantage in the penalty box, there is an increased chance for their team to score a goal.

This has happened quite a few times, as seen in the video below!

Last minute goals are really something special. It is even more so when they are being scored by a goalkeeper!

One of the more famous instances was when Alisson scored this last minute goal against West Brom:

There are some famous goalscoring goalkeepers

In fact, there are a few goalkeepers who have been constantly scoring goals for their team. In these scenarios, the goalkeeper is usually the penalty or free kick taker for his team.

Rogério Ceni holds the record for the highest number of goals scored by a goalkeeper, with 131! He mainly scored these goals by being Sao Paulo’s main penalty taker.

In other cases, the goalkeeper may score a goal via a ‘freak accident’. The goalkeeper may kick a ball into the air, and it gets carried by the wind.

The ball will bounce much higher than expected. As such, this may cause the opponent goalkeeper to misjudge the trajectory of the ball.

It may just fly over the opponent goalkeeper’s head and into the goal!

This scenario has happened a few times, such as Tim Howard’s goal for Everton,

or Asmir Begovic’s goal for Stoke.

The wind has to really help the goalkeeper to score a goal! If not, it is usually really hard for the ball to travel so far.

Rule changes prevents a goalkeeper from scoring a goal directly from his hands and arms

In 2019, there was a major change to the handball rules. In Law 12, it now prevents a goalkeeper from scoring a goal directly with his hands or arms:

It is an offence if a player scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper

IFAB

As such, the goalkeeper is unable to use his hands to score a goal!

Here are some situations where a goalkeeper may score a goal:

Can a goalkeeper score from a goal kick?

A goalkeeper is able to score from a goal kick. A goal kick is similar to other set pieces that are in the game, such as a free kick, corner or penalty. The Laws of the Game also permits a goal being scored directly from a goal kick.

Here is what is mentioned in Law 16:

A goal may be scored directly from a goal kick, but only against the opposing team

IFAB

As such, it is perfectly legal for a goalkeeper to score from a goal kick! The goal kick is similar to other set pieces that a player can take.

In fact, defenders are allowed to take the goal kick as well!

Scoring from a goal kick is similar to scoring from a free kick. However, it is much harder to score from a goal kick!

Here is an example, where Tom King scored this goal in a match against Cheltenham Town.

He now holds the record for the longest goal ever scored in a competitive football match!

Can a goalkeeper score from a drop kick?

A goalkeeper is able to score from a drop kick, or from a kick out of his hands. The goal will not be disallowed as the goal has not been scored directly from the goalkeeper’s hands. However, this is something that does not happen that often.

The Laws of the Game states that a goal will only be disallowed if it is scored directly from a hand. However, the goalkeeper drops the ball from his hand and kicks it out from his penalty area.

As such, the goal is not scored directly from the goalkeeper’s hands! In this way, the goal will stand.

However, if he throws the ball into the opponent’s net, the goal will be disallowed! This is because the goal has been scored directly from the goalkeeper’s hands or arms.

There are quite a few examples of goalkeepers scoring a goal from a drop kick:

These goals require a lot of skill, and perhaps luck

In most cases, it is really hard for a goalkeeper to kick the ball so high up the pitch. Usually the ball gets carried by the wind and travels much further.

Most of the time, the ball will bounce much higher than the opponent goalkeeper expects. This usually results in the ball flying over the goalkeeper’s head!

As such, you will rarely get to see this in a football match. But if you do, it is something that’s really bizarre!

Can a goalkeeper score from a throw?

A goalkeeper cannot score a goal by throwing the ball into the net. This is because the goal is scored directly from the goalkeeper’s hands.

This rule is similar to why a player cannot directly score from a throw in. A goal cannot be scored if it last touched any player’s arm or hands.

However, a goalkeeper is actually able to take a throw in!

Can a goalkeeper score a goal with his hands?

A goalkeeper is unable to score a goal with his hands. The Laws of the Game prevents a goal from being scored directly from any player’s arms or hands, including the goalkeeper’s. Moreover, he can only use his hands in his own penalty area.

This is according to Law 12:

A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences: a handball offence (except for the goalkeeper within their penalty area)

IFAB

The laws mention that the goalkeeper can only use his hands in his own penalty area. If he goes up for a corner kick and uses his hands in the opponent’s penalty area, it will be a handball!

One of the most notable moments is this goal attempt by Oliver Kahn.

Bayern Munich were losing to Hansa Rostock, so Kahn came up for the corner and punched the ball into the net!

He was subsequently given a second yellow card and was sent off the pitch.

Can a goalkeeper score an own goal?

A goalkeeper is able to score an own goal, just like any other player on the field. There are many instances where a keeper may throw the ball into the net, or mis-kick the ball which results in it entering the goal.

Here are some examples of own goals being scored by the goalkeeper:

This usually occurs when a goalkeeper is not focused on the ball and makes an error. These goals are usually really bizarre and embarrassing for the keeper!

There are other times where he may score an own goal when his teammate throws the ball to him!

Can a goalkeeper score an own goal from a goal kick?

A goalkeeper is unable to score an own goal directly from a goal kick. If such a scenario happens where the he kicks the ball into his net from a goal kick, a corner will be awarded to the opponent’s team.

There is another part in Law 16 which mentions this:

A goal may be scored directly from a goal kick, but only against the opposing team; if the ball directly enters the kicker’s goal a corner kick is awarded to the opponents if the ball left the penalty area.

IFAB

As such, it is very clear cut that you cannot score an own goal directly from a goal kick!

This is similar to how an own goal cannot be scored from a free kick too.

This rare scenario may usually happen when you mis-kick the ball, such that it goes into your net!

Conclusion

A goalkeeper is able to score a goal, just like any other player. Moreover, he is also unable to score a goal directly from his hands.

In this way, it is acceptable for him to score a goal from a drop kick!

At the same time, a goalkeeper can score an own goal, which is most likely due to certain errors he makes. However, the one way which he cannot score an own goal is directly from a goal kick.

undraw junior soccer 6sop

Are you passionate about football and want to earn some side income?